Children’s Programming Sabotages Diets

31 07 2008

I came to the realization the other day that I am always hungry because the shows my son watches (or are on in the background sometimes while he plays) always make references to food.  For instance on Clifford there is a dog named T-Bone and another one named Hamburger.  Then on Super Why the episode was about the hen making cornbread for her chicks.  Of course that made me think, hmm, cornbread, sounds good.  So I made some cornbread for my chickies.  Then since I had the oven on I made homemade granola (for the first time).  I am HOOKED!  It was super easy and SO yummy :)  My husband can’t stop eating it!  I just followed one of the recipes from my favorite cookbook, altering it a little to take into account the ingredients I had on hand. 

While that was baking I bagged the rest of the salmon that we brought home this past weekend.  Our new idea is to bake it right when we bring it home, flake and debone it, then package it in meal size portions and freeze.  I think it’s going to make it a lot easier to just grab some salmon and use it in meals like salmon alfredo, salmon patties, salmon casseroles etc.  Anyway, here are a few pictures of that fateful morning :)

 

This is the catch from the weekend.  Seven fish in total.  We estimate this is about 25 fish this season.  With us eating maybe 1/2 to 1 fish a week it should last us until the beginning of next summer!

 

After all the cooking, flaking, vacuum packing, etc.  the kitchen was a mess.  I try to be the kind of person who cleans up during the cooking process but it never works.  I was really tired from standing so I made myself a bowl of the still warm granola and sat down to rest…

 

After I finished I set the timer for 15 min and cleaned everything but the dishes.  Those took two loads in the dishwasher (because the baby was up late the night before so the dinner dishes hadn’t been done).  Anyway, before and after photos :)  Maybe not too impressive to anyone else, but with a toddler running around taking off his diaper and a teething baby, this was quite an accomplishment for me :)  Setting the timer is always great motivation.  You can do anything for 15 (or 10 or 5) minutes.  And usually once I get started I can finish even if the timer goes off.

 

 

 

Actions

Information

3 responses

31 07 2008
sunnymum

I haven’t seen pics of your kitchen yet. Very nice!

31 07 2008
Audra Krell

Kitchen looks great! You are so right about the TV programming. I wonder how many other things we’ve subliminally done due to TV!? Scary.

3 08 2008
Kim

Love the way you divided your fish to make it last. You did a great job in the kitchen. I’ll be the granola was yummy!

Thanks for stopping by my giveaway! Come visit anytime!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 389 other followers

