Menu Plan Monday- AK

1 09 2008

Happy Monday everyone!!!  And Happy Fall!  Now that it’s September I can officially call it Fall, although the leaves have been turning here for at least 2 weeks. 

 

Here is my current attempt at getting back into meal planning.  I’ve been trying to plan meals, but our schedule has been thrown off lately by a number of things and my plans haven’t been adhered to as well as I’d have liked.  It wouldn’t be very helpful to keep posting the same menu week after week!  I still haven’t roasted the turkey I planned a month ago! 

Anyway, I made a very detailed plan for myself for this week and next.  I haven’t been to the commissary since the end of July so now we are very low on a lot of things.  And with my hubby gone hunting and the kids being cranky (both teething at the same time), I don’t want to attempt a huge grocery shopping trip.  I’ll spare you a lot of the details of my plan (let’s just say I have a big spreadsheet going) and just post the lunches and dinners.

I got a lot of my ideas this week from Susanne at the Hillbilly Housewife.  This is one of my favorite sites lately as her focus is on low cost, home cooking from scratch.  Susanne posts a lot of low cost meal ideas and has a ton of recipes for making convienience foods at home. And she posts these in a way that makes me believe I can do it too!

  Lunches: Dinners:
Monday leftover noodles, broccoli Creamed Tuna & Peas over Rice; Garlic Toast
Tuesday veggie soup; bisquits Halibut; Mac & Cheese; Zucchini Corn Fritters
Wednesday ramen with veggies; muffins Polish Sausage & Veggie Stir Fry over Rice
Thursday ham and cheese Lentil Chili; Corn Bread; Caramel Bread Pudding (I will post this recipe after I make it- I have an idea of what I want to make, but need to test my theory before I pass it on)
Friday pb&j, green beans leftovers
Saturday ravioli casserole Bean Burritos with Homemade Tortillas; Oven Fried Onion Rings
Sunday leftovers/hotdogs eat out

 

So after all that, my shopping list includes only some fresh fruits and veggies, ham, eggs, cheese, yogurt and frozen ravioli.  Really, truly, that’s it!  Oh, and maple extract because I saw the most wonderful looking recipe I want to try this week: Starbucks Maple Scones!  They look SOOO yummy I can’t resist!

Visit I’m an Organizing Junkie for more meal plan ideas and delicious recipes.  Have a happy week!

PS- sorry for the small type on the menu- I pasted it from Excel and thought it would be OK.  I'll try to fix it later if I can.

Actions

Information

4 responses

1 09 2008
Colleen

Cool, like the excel meal spreadsheet. I don’t know if I’ll plan meals this week, since we have too many leftovers from this weekend. Halibut sounds yummy!

1 09 2008
Mandy

Sounds wonderful! (Esp the caramel bread pudding) Emeril made a Caramel Apple Bread Pudding once, and we made it at home, it was so good!

2 09 2008
Phoebe

I love the spreadsheet! What a great idea. Don’t you just love Hillbilly Housewife? She has some of the best recipes and frugal! So does Gayle over at Grocery Cart Challenge.
Thank you for stopping over for a visit! I’m going to make a lentli burrito next week. Hopefully he’ll like those too. I never knew lentils were so verstaile. Have a great week!

8 09 2008
Meal Plan Monday- AK «

[...] Plan Monday- AK September 8, 2008 at 12:35 pm | In Uncategorized | Well, last week’s meal plan was a bust. Monday we were invited last minute to a friends for dinner. So I made Monday’s [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 389 other followers

