Happy Thanksgiving

30 11 2008

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!

This year I certainly have a lot to be thankful for.  I have a wonderful and handsome husband, we have two beautiful boys.  My husband has a good job and is good at his job, which allows me to stay home to care for them.  We live in such a beautiful part of the country, in a nice home with a creek in the backyard and a view of the mountains in the winter.  We have our health, and friends, family, neighbors.  It’s always nice to have a day that “forces” you to think about what you are blessed with.  What are your blessings?

turkey babyAfter last year, Thanksgiving will never be the same for me.  I will always associate it with the birth of my second son (born 3:15AM on Thanksgiving morning).  And I’ll always call him my little turkey, not only because he was born that day, but because at 10lb 5oz he was bigger than our Thanksgiving turkey!

We grew up eating traditional Thanksgiving fare: turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, green bean casserole, cranberry sauce and rolls.  And don’t forget the gravy.  Or the pumpkin pie!  Extra whipped cream on mine!  Note for future years: add corn on the cob, ham and shrimp cocktail!

This year I’m going with pretty much the same.  However, because my husband is very picky about stuffing, I am leaving out the apples, raisins, mushrooms and walnuts.  I also found a really good looking recipe from the Crockpot Lady for pumpkin cheesecake in the crockpot.  Her picture looks so yummy and the recipe sounds pretty easy so I thought I’d try it. 

I hope everyone has a blessed Thanksgiving with family and friends.

Actions

Information

3 responses

1 12 2008
natalie

wow- your son was as big as my husband was when he was born!! (i’m a little scared thinking how big our kid will be! i’m only five feet tall and he’s 6ft 2in!!)

3 12 2008
Guy

Don’t forget olives :) The pumpkin cheesecake was awesome!

4 12 2008
Massachusetts Husband

Umm. Olives. Little Bean and I agree. More olives please!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 389 other followers

