Inspirational Quote

22 05 2008

“Things which matter most must never be at the mercy of things that matter least.”   -Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

I found this quote today and was thinking that it is such a great reminder for me at this period of my life.  It reminds me that even when the dishes and laundry are piling up, I shouldn’t ignore my children’s pleas for attention to get them clean.  The boys need my love and attention much more than I need a clean house.  I often find myself letting the baby fuss just a few more minutes, or telling my 2 yr old “just another minute” so I can get one chore or another done.  Sometimes it’s OK to do this especially if the mess is creating a lot of stress on the family, but most times it will work out better if you spend 15 minutes with the kids first and get to the chores later.  Everyone is happier for it. 

 

Actions

Information

One response

2 06 2008
craftymom

What a great reminder of the importance of giving our kids attention before the household chores! I completely agree, spending a few minutes with your child and then doing the chores works out much better.

Leave a Reply

