Works for me Wednesday: “Mom, I’m Bored”

4 06 2008

Works for Me Wednesday!

Labels     Yes, summer is coming! One of the best indoor activities that keeps my toddler amused to no end is playing with stickers. But, I cringe when Bean peels sheet after sheet of fancy stickers and pastes them to her body! So, I’ll give her a sheet of labels instead. I’ve found little round and rectangled colored labels intended for pricing things at a garage sale work well. They are bright and colorful and cheap! (Especially if you find them at the dollar store, garage sales, or in bulk at an office supply store.)
     These stickers are also a blank canvas for budding young artists. Blank address labels intended for your printer also work nicely. My toddler colors some by herself and loves to have me draw familiar faces (cats, stars, letters, etc) for her as she calls their names out. When her older cousins are over, I give them some fine-tipped markers, and they create amazingly intricate masterpieces. Sometimes, they’ll color a picture, then stick each piece to a sheet of construction paper, with a little bit of space between each sticker. This is a really cool effect—I think there’s a scrapbooking term for it too! 
      When Bean is covered in stickers and is looking for something new, I stick a bunch of labels to the floor making paths through the apartment for her to follow. She’ll run back and forth on her sticker path for awhile, but her favorite game is dancing. Bean will put a pile of stickers in one spot on the floor, then ask for music. She’ll dance around, stomping on the stickers, and make sure she’s standing on them when each song ends. We love stickers!
 

Stop by Rocks in My Dryer for more Works for Me Wednesday tips to use when you hear “Mom, I’m Bored!”

Actions

Information

3 responses

4 06 2008
jen

I love that idea! We accidentally found out how popular the yard sale stickers were with kids (all over our kitchen walls!) but for some reason I never thought to use regular address labels and let them color their own stickers. Thanks for the tip. I can’t wait to try it!

4 06 2008
Joyful Days

What a cute idea. I love the path to follow, especially!

4 06 2008
Julie

Great idea! I will have to try this for my daughter!
Thanks!
Julie

Leave a Reply

