Soup’s On!

9 06 2008

I made this recipe (very loosely adapted from Jacques Pepin’s Fast Food My Way book) and it is yummy, simple and delicious! Thank you to Jennifer for reminding me of my sojourn in France where a bowful of soup preceded every meal; a very heathy and cheap addition to any diet. In his recipe, Jacques Pepin recommends shredding the veggies on a box grater, but after 5 minutes of trying to shred eggplant, I gave up and cut my veggies into very small dice. I used a handheld immersion blender to create a smooth texture, but you could also process it in small batches in your blender. The grits help thicken the soup. Sorry, there is no picture, since the eggplant cooked up to a gray and depressing color so next time I’ll have to take a “before” pic.

Vegetable Soup:

Boil 5 cups water in a large saucepan. Add 1 tsp salt and 4-5 cups diced (tiny, tiny) veggies. Today’s soup had one small eggplant, 1/2 red onion, 1/2 zucchini, and 2 carrots. (Other good vegetables include button mushrooms, potatoes, broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage…actually, I can’t think of a bad veggie) Bring water back to a boil and boul, uncovered, until vegetables are softened. Sprinkle 3 Tbs instant grits (or polenta, yellow cornmeal, or tiny pasta) and cook for 2-3 minutes longer over low. Puree! Makes about 6 cups of soup. Serve each bowl with a tsp of olive oil (or a little milk or cream) and a few Tbs of shredded cheese (swiss is nice!)

Actions

Information

One response

9 06 2008
Joy of Frugal Living

Looks really yummy!

Thanks for stopping by my blog. 🙂 I agree, the fact that the library is air conditioned is a major bonus. We are dealing with 100 degree weather here in PA, it’s awful!

Jennifer

Leave a Reply

