Oatmeal Bread and Sourdough in Alaska

19 06 2008

I tried my hand yet again at making bread yesterday by trying the recipe for Oatmeal Molasses Bread found at About.com.  The bread came out tasting a little too yeasty, but overall was very good.  I think part of the problem was that I didn’t read the directions closely enough and put the bread into bake before letting it rise a second time.  Maybe next time I’ll try less yeast and more rising time… My two year old didn’t seem to mind a bit!  He scarfed down his PB&J and asked for more! 

Every time I make bread I think to myself “why don’t I make this more often?”  I find the hardest part is getting started.  The recipe above was pretty easy.  I don’t own a bread machine, I didn’t even use a mixer.  So, reinspired, I forge ahead yet again into bread making.  This weekend’s project is getting a sourdough starter started 🙂 

Sourdough is a big thing in Alaska. The fact that it’s so versitile might inspire me to create a lot more homemade staples (ie the obvious bread, pancakes instead of eggo type waffles, etc). 

Just for fun I looked up ‘sourdough in Alaska’ and here are a few things I found… the Sourdough Mining Company  (we’ve been here- they have the most wonderful World Famous Korn Fritters!!); the Sourdough Visitor’s Lodge; Sourdough Campground; Sourdough Bed and Breakfast; Sourdough Tours; and the list goes on!!

Wikpedia also has some great information on the chemistry and history of sourdough.

Actions

Information

One response

20 06 2008
sunnymum

If it got the two-year old seal of approval, I’d better try the recipe!

Leave a Reply

