Organizing Dressers: Works for Me Wednesday

25 06 2008

Works for Me Wednesday!
Is it called a dresser or a bureau?
Either way, life is nice when it’s organized and you can find what you’re looking for. Organization is particularly a challenge for kids’ clothes because they seem to be all over the place.
Well, little labels work for us! I just took a slip of paper and taped it to the inside of the drawer to mark the locations of shirts, onesies, pants, etc. They would look nicer if I had a label maker, but scraps certainly do the job. Now, dad can put away toddler clothes without having to ask where things go. And as new clothes sneak in, it’s a reminder to put or give away clothes that are too small.
When our toddler is older, I’m planning to put larger labels on the outside of drawers so she can practice reading and putting away her clothes!
Visit Rocks in my Dryer for lots of fun Works For Me Wednesday Tips.

 

PS—–For more labeling fun, visit My Personal Organizer!

Actions

Information

8 responses

25 06 2008
likeawarmcupofcoffee

Great idea! That’s funny how you mention that the labels are also for your hubby so he knows where to put things – perhaps I should label all the cabinets in my kitchen as well! 🙂

25 06 2008
Cassandra Stafford

Great idea.Totally borrowing it.

25 06 2008
Erin

I need to do this on my dresser! Actually, this is a great reminder to clean out my dresser. And THEN I can put labels on to remind me to keep it organized.

I also love how this helps everyone stay on the same page as far as where to find things/put things away. Thanks for sharing!

25 06 2008
jubilee

This is a great tip. My kids are not quite to the point where labels will work for them though. Maybe if I drew pictures!

Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting. Mind if I stick around a bit and browse?

25 06 2008
Kelsey

WOw awesome idea thanks so much! I love your blog!

26 06 2008
everychapter

Oh thank you for affirming that I am not OCD, (or at least that someone else is with me! :). I’ve been wanting to do this and I felt like it was such a dorky thing to do that I haven’t done it yet- now I’m going to! Thank you for visiting my blog- I love comments!

26 06 2008
Audra Marie

Oh what a clever idea. 🙂 I’ll have to try this one. 🙂

31 07 2008
Debbie Jordan Kravitz (Virtually Organized)

Great use of labels! Now Dad has no excuses!! Good luck with my labelmaker giveaway-I KNOW you would put it to excellent use!

Leave a Reply

