Where’s the sun? (a rant about the weather…)

19 07 2008

Here in Anchorage the topic on everyone’s mind lately has been the crummy weather.  It’s been raining and cloudy a lot lately.  I think there have been only two days this summer that the temperature hit 70.  Mainly, it’s been in the low 60’s, high 50’s.  I guess I should have known that it would be a cold summer when it snowed more than a foot on April 25.  Not that I’m complaining, mind you.  I would take 60’s over 90’s any day.  I’m just a little bummed that I can’t have the garden I always envisioned.  And there’s something inherently wrong with seeing your breath in the middle of July.

The fireweed is blooming already- usually a sure sign that summer is coming to an end.  And not much except the broccoli and cabbage has grown any significant amount yet.  Oh, I take that back, the potatoes have grown, but I’ve run out of loose dirt and extra tires to pile on them.  I’m thinking of buying a few tires from the Salvation Army ($4.25 with our military discount) and maybe digging up part of our yard so I won’t have to buy dirt at $7 a bag.  I imagine I would need at least four.  Planting potatoes in tires is such an ingenious idea, I just had more seed potatoes to plant than tires collected.

Ah, well, that’s what garden journals are for- so you remember next year what did or didn’t work!

Wishing you better weather!

Actions

Information

One response

21 07 2008
craftymom

And here we are wishing for rain and it’s 100 degrees outside! Ahh, the differences from North & South.

I’ve never heard of growing potatoes in tires, gonna check that out. We have a garden and it’s done pretty well this year, though we don’t have potatoes.

Leave a Reply

