Ziploc Works for Me in the Morning

23 07 2008

Ziploc Twist 'n Loc - Containers & Lids, Small - 3 eaLittle Bean has a strange appetite and breakfast is no exception. Sometimes she’s ravenous, other times she just nibbles. I got tired of pouring her a bowl of cereal in the morning, only to have her abandon her mighty men to soak up the milk and swell to gargantuan proportions. Instead I’ve come up with a painless way to handle breakfast time. The night before, I fill a ziploc twist n’ loc, (which are shaped like little bowls too!), with her cereal and screw the lid back on. When she gets up, we get her a sippy cup of milk and open the container. The container acts like a prepackaged single serving, which is convenient when you can’t think straight after getting out of bed (I am really not a morning person!). She’s then free to munch what she feels like eating, with no wasted soggy cereal. Twist the lid back on and save the rest for later!

I know this isn’t an ingenious, earth-shattering idea, but it does keep me sane!

For a large variety of helpful hints, visit Rocks in My Dryer. Works for Me Wednesday!

Actions

Information

5 responses

23 07 2008
Rachel

We do this too. These are also great for mornings where no one gets out of bed on time and you have to have breakfast-in-the-backseat.

23 07 2008
Massachusetts Husband

now we need to find a way to have little bean get the milk herself.

23 07 2008
Peanut

That’s a great idea! We too have the problem of soggy uneaten cereal. Who says cereal has to be eaten with milk on top?!
PS Thanks for the bedtime book suggestion 🙂 I love Sandra Boynton books!

25 07 2008
backdoorvisits

This is a great idea. I do fix my son a bowl of cereal and a cup of milk separately, but I hadn’t thought of putting it in a container the night before. I’m all about doing stuff the night before so I can be on aut0-pilot until I’ve had some coffee!

27 07 2008
Jill

As a fellow “not morning person” I say whatever works to get you through your morning is brilliant. My kids are lucky they even get a hello, let alone breakfast 🙂

Leave a Reply

