Gross Things in My Garden

28 07 2008

After two weeks straight of rain, and a four day camping trip, my garden has been showing signs of neglect.  So I took advantage of the baby’s long nap and my toddler’s good behavior mood and spent some time picking weeds, and doing other outside chores.  Overgrown weeds and almost blooming broccoli weren’t the only things to greet me today.  I found a dead bird smack in the middle of my flower patch.  Yucky, but my other thought was ‘poor thing’.  I think it might have been the bird we saw hopping around with a broken wing last week but I’m not sure.  I’m just glad I was able to move it out of there before my boy saw it and wanted to play with it! 

Then when moving some border stones around I stumbled upon a colony of slugs.  YUCK YUCK AND TRIPLE YUCK.  One is bad enough, but 30 or more…  ugh, I am sick to my stomach just thinking about it.  Being married to a hunter and having been through pregnancy and childbirth twice, not much grosses me out anymore.  But slimy, disgusting, althchkk (can’t even come up with a word for that sound!) slugs are GROSS!  I probably used half a box of Borax on the ones I found, and hope we have some cheap beer to set out some traps later.  I don’t want to waste the Killians on those things!

Well, back to good things.  Some of the tomato plants have blossomed.  The broccoli is looking about ready to be picked.  It actually looks a bit beyond ready, but I’ve never grown broccoli so how can you tell?  I was expecting larger heads, but I guess I got a mini variety?  The lettuce I thought was leaf lettuce is forming heads, so I guess that’s it for picking salads.  The herbs (dill, parsley, chives, tarragon) I planted are coming up nicely.  I think I may pot a few in a couple of weeks to bring inside for the winter.  Especially the dill to go with all the salmon we’ll be eating.  So despite this looking like the coldest summer on record (can you believe there have only been 35 days it’s hit 60 or above?), I have had some success with gardening.  I’ve already started looking toward next year and things I can do to prepare so that next year I will have more luck!

Actions

Information

2 responses

28 07 2008
Audra Krell

Congratulations on your gardening success! We have had so many gross things around here lately. Over the weekend, I was walking by our carpeted stairs that lead to the second floor when I noticed a large brown leaf. Turns out it was a lizard! Just sitting on the stair, perfectly still. I am praying a snake inside the house isn’t next!

29 07 2008
sunnymum

Yes, slugs still make my stomach churn too. I’ve also been a teacher, and I’ve seen some pretty gross things! You should bring the herbs inside! I wish I had planted more…

Leave a Reply

