Better Banana Bread

10 08 2008

Bananas seem to be the theme of recipe related posts these days. Well, I was craving some banana bread but wanted to see if I could make it a little healthier. I adapted a recipe from one of my favorite books- Favorite Recipes From Quilters by Louise Stolzfus (the recipe’s on pg 84). Here is my version. I had some misgivings about how it would turn out, but it baked up beautifully and tasted great. Too great actually, there’s none left for me to take a picture of!

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

½ cup applesauce
1 cup sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1TBSP cornstarch
1 cup white flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup oatmeal (uncooked)
2 tsp baking soda
3 ½ small to med bananas, mashed
¼ cup chocolate chips (and/or chopped walnuts)

1. Cream applesauce and sugar, add egg and vanilla and mix well.
2. Sift together dry ingredients. Add to batter, alternating with bananas. Mix until dough is moistened.
3. Fold in chocolate chips and/or walnuts and pour into greased loaf pan.
4. Bake at 350 for approx 60-70 minutes, or until done.

Note- can cover bread with foil if top is browning faster than it’s baking.

Who can resist anything with chocolate? And the great part is that the only fat (other than the chocolate of course) is from one egg. Not bad!

Actions

Information

3 responses

10 08 2008
Audra Krell

Oh yeah – this looks awesome, I may even make it tonight!!! I have all the ingredient, including the whole wheat flower! : ) I tagged you over at my blog….looking forward to finding out six random things about the sisters!

10 08 2008
sunnymum

Oh, yum! I am so hungry right now. Must go buy more bananas!

11 08 2008
Meal Plan Monday (in MA) «

[…] Sunday–Quiche or casserole? Jennifer’s Better Banana Bread! […]

Leave a Reply

