Family Favorite- Crab Flake Toss

11 08 2008

I am not sure if this was a published recipe anywhere, or if my mom invented it. But it is one of my favorite dishes of all time. There was never any leftover when she would make it for the family and I’d always request it for birthday dinners. It goes together rather quickly too.

Crab Flake Toss
serves 6-8

Ingredients:
1/2 package spaghetti
1 lb imitation crab flakes
4-6 TBSP butter
1/4 cup sliced green onions
2 tsp. basil leaves
1 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. pepper
1/3- 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
3 tomatoes, chopped (optional)
1 clove garlic, chopped

Directions:
Cook spaghetti according to package and drain. Heat crab in microwave. Return spaghetti to pot. Toss with all ingredients. Serve immediately. Serve with a tossed salad and garlic bread.

I find it easier to mix if I mix all the herbs into the melted butter first.  I also don’t usually heat up the crab first, I just return the pot to the stove after all is mixed.

I yelled at hubby last night not to eat the crab flakes.  He was sad, but will be very happy to have this for dinner tomorrow night!!

Actions

Information

One response

16 03 2009
Meal Plan Monday- AK (Mar 16) «

[…] bread Wednesday- salmon enchiladas using a variation of this recipe Thursday- leftovers Friday- crab flake toss, garlic bread Saturday- meat ball sandwiches Sunday- bbq meatloaf in schlemmertopf (I’m […]

Leave a Reply

