Meal Plan Monday (in AK)

11 08 2008

It’s been a while since I posted a meal plan.  Most of my efforts at planning a menu lately have been thwarted by last minute invites to barbeques and such.  The weather here has been pretty nice lately, after a miserable July.  So everyone is getting in their barbeques before the weather takes a turn to the worse.  There is already fresh snow on some mountains nearby and the leaves are starting to show hints of yellow.  Aaahhh!!!  Not ready for winter yet!!!!

I spent some time while it was raining poring over some recipe books (pun intended) to find some new recipes.  At our local library I found a great crockpot recipe [Fix-It and Forget-It by Dawn Ranck and Pyhllis Pellman Good] that I will be putting that to good use as I try to get myself back in the habit of regularly using the crockpot.  I also dug out an old family favorite to use up the (fake) crab meat we have in the fridge.  We might be going camping this weekend so I am not really planning those days.  If we do we’ll just have leftovers and/or hotdogs and brats.  If we don’t we’ll probably BBQ burgers on Saturday.  Sunday I am planning on roasting a turkey we inherited from a neighbor who moved away recently so look for leftovers from that next week!

Anyway, here is the plan for the rest of the week.  Also, check out Colleen’s menu  for this week and I’m an Organizing Junkie for more great recipe and meal plan ideas.

Monday: Pork Roast (bought already marinated), mashed potatoes, carrots

Tuesday: Crab Pasta, salad, garlic bread

Wednesday: crockpot- haven’t decided on the recipe to use yet, but it will be chicken.  Probably Orange Chicken Leg Quarters or Sweet and Sour Chicken (page 175 and 177 of the book I mentioned above)

Thursday: Greek style pizza- homemade pizza dough, grilled onions, feta cheese, and random other ingredients that I find lurking in the fridge that day.

Friday: leftovers

Saturday: brats or burgers

Sunday: roast turkey, stuffing, green beans

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

