Meal Plan Monday (in MA)

11 08 2008

We have a busy week ahead of us, and guess what, it’s raining again! These are the quick dinners I’ve planned for the week, since I’m also working evenings M-Thursday. Eep! I thought I’d include my notes for my flexible recipes here in case you’d like to try.

Or find some other recipes & ideas at Meal Plan Mondays at Organizing Junkie.

Monday–Pork fried rice with stir fry veggies (pork is already cooked)
          Cook rice. Dice onion and saute with olive oil in large skillet. Add cubed pork, rice, green peas & diced carrots (I buy either a can or use frozen. You can use fresh carrots and cook them with the onion) to the skillet along with enough soy sauce to darken the rice. Add a bit of oil if necessary to keep the mixture from completely gluing to the skillet. Cook and stir until vegetables are heated through. You can also whisk an egg or two and stir in towards the end.

Tuesday–Turkey Meatloaf and Veggies (Sunday’s leftovers)
           Mix together 1 package ground turkey (about 1.25 lb), 1/2 small onion (diced), 1/2 cup ricotta cheese, 1 beaten egg, 2 Tbs chopped fresh parsley, 2 Tbs soy sauce, 1 Tbs worcestershire sauce, 1/3 cup plain bread crumbs, salt & pepper. Shape into a loaf on a baking sheet and bake at 350 until internal temp is 165F. (about 45 min) I always eyeball measurements when making this, and never had a problem. You can also grate a carrot into the mix, or add some bell peppers.

Wednesday–Soup, salad, & sandwiches

Thursday–Hamburgers and potato salad

Friday–Leftovers or pizza

Saturday–Pasta and cookout foods (going to the park if it doesn’t rain!)

Sunday–Quiche or casserole? Jennifer’s Better Banana Bread!

Sunday I’m also preparing dinner for a mom in our playgroup with a newborn, so I have to come up with something that can sit in their cooler for awhile and still taste good reheated. I don’t want to use chicken either since all the other volunteers are preparing poultry dishes. I’d love to hear any suggestions you might have! Thanks!

Actions

Information

8 responses

11 08 2008
hereinak

Beef stroganoff made with hamburger is a favorite make ahead meal of mine. Also, sloppy joes would be easy to make ahead and reheat. Make sure to add some cookies 🙂 That was my favorite part of the meals people brought for me when both my babies were born 🙂

11 08 2008
jen

When I had my little one I got Beef Stew and Baked Spaghetti….Mexican casseroles and Chicken galore….my advice is to stay away from Mexican as she could be nursing….I agree with cookies…easy to grab and eat. I always enjoyed the desserts the most…back to your request….have you ever thought of Beef Veggie Soup and Little ham and swiss sandwiches that you bake? If interested email me and I will send you the recipe…good luck

11 08 2008
Kelly

I have a great recipe for beef tips that are cooked in the crockpot. They are very easy and delicious. They reheat well. It can be served with rice and another vegetable and bread. You could even do some type of breakfast food, pancakes reheat great.

12 08 2008
Massachusetts Husband

On Thursday can we have hot dogs too? And potato chips? and BBQ chicken?…

12 08 2008
sunnymum

I know you’d like the meal to be 3 different kinds of meat, but we’ll see what the market has on sale!

12 08 2008
Lora

Hi! Thanks for dropping by my blog! I hope you’ll come back soon. This looks like a fun blog that you and your sister(?) do!
About that pizza–you don’t have to use a deep-dish pan if you don’t have one. I’ve also used a regular flat pizza pan or stone and just rolled it out more. It works great!…Your pork fried rice really sounds yummy!

13 08 2008
Jeannie

your fried rice with stir fry veggies sounds soooooooooooooooooooo good!!!! =)

18 08 2008
Meal Plan Monday in MA «

[…] egg rolls, chicken fried rice (leftover chicken), fruit […]

Leave a Reply

