Carrot Bread

11 09 2008

Trying to use up the enormous bag of carrots I had, I tried substituting them for zucchini in a recipe I had. The results were great. My husband who doesn’t like carrots decided he’d take my word for it and try some too. He was pleasantly surprised!

This recipe is from Carol Weaver and Mary Ellen Roseberry in Favorite Recipes from QuiltersBy the way, this book is great.  My aunt bought it for me when I was first out of college as a housewarming gift and it’s been one of my favorite ever since.  It is full of easy to follow, every day food recipes. I highly recommend the deep dish brownie recipe!!!

Zucchini Bread

2 eggs
1 c. cooking oil (I used applesauce)
1 c. brown sugar
1 c. white sugar
2 c. grated zucchini (or carrots in my case)
2 TBSP vanilla
3 c. flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 c. chopped nuts or raisins (I used raisins)

– Beat eggs.  Add oil, sugars, zucchini and vanilla and mix lightly.
– Combine flour, baking soda, baking powder and cinnamon.  Add slowly to batter and mix lightly.  If desired, fold in nuts or raisins.
– Pour batter into 2 medium greased and floured loaf pans.
– Bake at 350 for 1 hour or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Since I only have one loaf pan, I made muffins with the remaining batter.  I think the next time I try this recipe I’ll make just muffins.

Enjoy!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

