Meal Plan Monday- AK

5 01 2009


Happy New Year everyone! I hope Christmas was wonderful for you all. The boys had a great time opening all the presents Santa (aka our friends and relatives) brought. The new toys have kept them very busy for the past week which was very helpful because we’ve pretty much been housebound since it’s so cold out. The temperatures have been -10F to -20F. It’s so cold, that there’s frost on the snow. Don’t ask me how this is even possible.

The holidays and a round of pinkeye messed up our schedules but life is starting to get back to normal. Hubby has to go to Fairbanks at the end of the week so I’m going to spend some time organizing my sewing closet and restocking some freezer meals.

Last week I took an inventory of our freezers and organized them so it’s easier to find everything. We have an awful lot of moose and salmon to go through before next fishing/hunting season. And therefore my first meal of the week is pork riblets! LOL!! We’ve had them in the freezer for a while and my husband had his eye on them all weekend so I pulled them out last night. He’s going to be in Fairbanks at the end of the week, so I’m keeping the rest of the week simple and will try to make a few quick freezer meals.

And in the spirit of New Year’s Resolutions, I’m going to try going forward to plan more vegetables for dinner, and will search out some healthier recipes for family favorites (aka see this week’s meatloaf recipe).

For more of this week’s meal planning ideas and recipes visit I’m an Org Junkie.

Monday: hot and spicy pork ribs, corn bread (Note: these cooked up great!  I didn’t have apple cider vinegar so I used red wine vinegar.  Also I put in about a TBS of chili powder instead of the chilis it called for.  My one year old downed it, saying “ahhhh” and “mmmm” the entire time.)
Tuesday: meatloaf (also make one for freezer and make meatballs for freezer), green beans, mashed potatoes
Wednesday: salmon (substituted for the tuna in this recipe: Tuna Steaks with Wasabi-Ginger Glaze), asparagus, rice
Thursday: leftovers
Friday: spicy black bean soup
Saturday: leftovers
Sunday: slow cooker pot roast- I’m planning on making a lot and cutting up the extras to freeze for sandwiches and fajitas

Have a good week!

Actions

Information

2 responses

6 01 2009
Guy

The ribs were wonderful honey. I can’t wait for tonights meatloaf!!!

6 01 2009
Guy

I’d like to make a request…with all the cold weather, I think your homemade french onion soup with the melted cheese would be great this week or next…mmmmmmm…nice and warm you can wrap your hands around it….

Leave a Reply

