Meal Plan Monday AK- midwinter crisis

12 01 2009

Spring is coming!!! In about 4 months… At least they’re starting to stock seeds in the garden section of the stores now.

In the meantime we have been basically housebound since temperatures have been in the negative teens-20’s. That’s right MINUS 20! Before last weekend I had never experienced temperatures much below zero. When I first stepped out I thought “oh, it’s not so bad” but by the time I got to the car (about 20 yards away) my legs were numb. Thursday I had to schlep two kids to the doctor. Luckily I found a relatively close spot!

So in the spirit of winter eating, I’m planning a bunch of “warm-you-up” comfort food meals for next week (still trying to keep a healthy twist on them though- ie oven fried chicken).

Be sure to visit orgjunkie.com for many more meal planning ideas!

Monday: red beans and rice
Tuesday: pot roast with potatoes, onions and carrots
Wednesday: french onion soup, roast beef sandwiches
Thursday: fajitas (leftover pot roast, grilled peppers, brown rice, homemade tortillas)
Friday: polish sausage and pierogies
Saturday lunch: honey mustard turkey tortillas
Saturday dinner: slow cooker potato corn chowder, sourdough bread
Sunday: oven fried chicken, buttermilk bisquits, corn on the cob, green beans

OK, so it doesn’t look all that healthy but it does look yummy!  I’ll have to add an extra hour or two of “dance party,” the new game my two year old and I made up- silly dancing to Salsa music!

Have a great week!

Actions

Information

One response

16 01 2009
denise

I thought my family were the only ones who ate pierogies and polish sausage.:-) i like to saute some mushrooms and oinions to go with ours when I serve them.

Leave a Reply

