Meal Plan Monday in MA

18 01 2009

Photobucket

   My plan this week is to empty some old meals & foods from the freezer and make some new frozen meals (ones that require less effort to prepare since I’m planning on dh to cook more) for when baby comes!
   I got a few cookbooks out of the library to help me. One is Dream Dinners which has pretty standard recipes. I’ve borrowed this cookbook before and really like some of the recipes I’ve tried. 
   Another book I found is The Best Make-Ahead Recipe from Cooks Illustrated (America’s Test Kitchen). I’ve been reading it like a juicy novel! They have stories behind all their recipes, how they were developed, and what to do/not to do when preparing different recipes. While not all their recipes are freezable, they all look very yummy! And they have some particularly decadent dessert recipes like molten chocolate cakes. That’s fine for dinner since cake has all the food groups, right?

Foods in blue are coming out of the freezer…

Monday–Christmas ham & parmesan noodles
Tuesday–Hotdogs & Baked Beans
Wednesday–Roasted chicken
Thursday–seconds of previous nights or Spaghetti & Meatball Sauce
Friday–Parm crusted Tilapia (Dream Dinners recipe)
Saturday–more “seconds” or “thirds”
Sunday–Probably will still have leftovers…

There are lots more meal plans over at I’m an Organizing Junkie. Enjoy!

Actions

Information

3 responses

19 01 2009
Jennifer

The tilapia sounds good. I might try that recipe with some halibut I have in the freezer. Good to see you back! I didn’t get to half the meals on my plan for last week, so I’m pretty much using those LOL! I hope you’re taking it easy!

20 01 2009
Raelene

Mmmmm Tilapia!!! Great menu!

11 02 2009
monumentallybusy

I love the Best Make Ahead Recipes!!! We made the Artichoke dip for a New Years party and it was a hit 🙂

Leave a Reply

