Baby says thank you!

28 01 2009

My friend had this great idea from her friend to make little “care packages” to give to her OB, L&D nurse and other people who helped her during her stay in the hospital while giving birth. I guess it’s along the lines of handing out cigars to everyone around when the kid pops out, but a little more thoughtful. My friend says the staff really appreciated it, especially the “grumpy” nurse who she almost didn’t give one to.

Following her lead, I came up with a simple item to hand out to special people. Still, it was easy enough that my toddler could help and we could make extras. It could also be a good party favor for a baby shower if you match the insert card to the party invitations/theme.

The hardest part is deciding what treat to use and then making sure the bags will fit the treat without looking overstuffed or empty. I used single serving packages of Land o’ Lakes Hot Chocolate for three reasons: 1. I like them, so hopefully others will too, 2. They fit nicely behind a standard-sized thank you card, 3. I had a box in the cupboard already!

For me, the best part was that I had all the craft materials in my stash and I had found packages of thank you cards from a resale shop (less than 3 cents a card!).
Here’s Bean showing off the finished gifts. Directions are below…

baby-thank-yous-002

Materials:
Thank you cards
Ribbon to match
Clear Candy Bags (found in the candy making aisle of any craft store)
Something to fill bags with (Hot Chocolate packages, candy, etc)

Instructions:
Using a paper cutter, trim the front off the thank you cards to fit inside the bag. (Optional–add a little handwritten note to the back of the card) Slide the card into the gussets on the candy bags. Fill bags with treats and tie closed with ribbon. You’re done!

Actions

Information

One response

29 01 2009
hereinak

What an awesome idea. I am so bad about thank you notes and am trying to be better about it. I’m sure this will make even the grumpiest nurse feel better. Who doesn’t love hot chocolate in the middle of winter!?

Leave a Reply

