What to do with 25# of pinto beans

20 03 2009

I have been running into facts about the benefits of beans a lot lately so I decided to pick up a big bag of pinto beans at the discount store the other day. Mind you, I didn’t have a clue of what I was going to do with them. I only knew that it was a good deal price-wise (25# for less than $15) and that they will last a long time so I don’t have to use them right away.

I decided to do a little research and come up with a variety of ways to use these beans. This will hopefully help us avoid getting sick of them after the first 3 pounds! Some of the recipes call for beans other than pinto beans, but I’m going to substitute since that’s what I have. I’m sure it will work the opposite way if you happen to have some other type of bean on hand…

In my reading I came across a number of interesting things I didn’t know about beans. For example, I didn’t realize they actually count as a vegetable. I guess I always assumed they counted as a meat. Also, you can add them to desserts to make a healthier treat (kind of like substituting applesauce for oil).

I am looking forward to trying some new recipes! This list is mostly just for ideas so I didn’t include links for any recipes. I’ll post specific links when I make them (if they turn out well!).  A majority of recipes for the items on this list can be found on the following sites:
US Dry Bean Council (USDBC)
Ontario Beans: The Bean Blog (OB)
Robbyn’s Friendly Freezer (RFF)
 

Appetizers, Side Dishes, Breakfasts:
Hummus
Bean and Spinach Pizza
Baja Quesadillas (USDBC)
Spicy Breakfast Burrito
Refried Beans
Bean salad
Soup (ie minestrone)

Main Dishes:
Chili
White Bean and Chicken Chili (OB)
Chicken Chili Verde (RFF)
Beef and Bean Burritos
Chicken and Bean Baked Tortillas (OB)
Meatloaf
Beans and Rice
Southwest Steak and Pinto Beans (USDBC)
Vegetable Stew with Parmesan Biscuits (OB)
Southwest Lasagna (USDBC)
South of the Border Bean Bake(RFF)

Desserts:
Snackin’ Bean Cake (OB)
Fudge (RFF)
Cookies
Brownies
Pinto Bean Muffins (OB and RFF)

Crafts and Other:
Maracas or tamborines (put some in between two paper plates stapled together- let kids decorate the paper plates)
Gluing beans to make pictures, shapes, letters (names or the “letter of the day/week”)
Counting/math games
Give some to a friend

Here are a few other sites to visit for more recipes using dried beans:

http://www.cooks.com/rec/search/0,1-0,pinto_beans,FF.html
http://www.cajunimages.com/Recipes/redbeansandrice.htm
http://www.endtimesreport.com/pinto_beans.html
http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/eating-well/spiced-pinto-beans-recipe/index.html
http://www.cdkitchen.com/recipes/cat/c,2615,0,Pinto-Beans-Recipes.html

Please let me know if you have any other ideas for me!  I’ll update this list if I discover anything new.  In the meantime, better get cooking!!

Jennifer

Actions

Information

One response

8 06 2009
Menu Plan AK- June 8 «

[…] pierogies if I can make it to the store to get them) Sunday- beans and rice (still working on my 25# of pinto beans) with leftover polish […]

Leave a Reply

