Jerked Spice Ham Recipe

4 05 2009

When I was an America Reads/America Counts tutor in college, I was paired with an awesome 1st grade teacher at PS 20 in NYC. She introduced me to wonderful island food at a little restaurant a few blocks from our school. One of my favorite dishes there was the jerked chicken. On repeated trips, she also got me to try some amazing jerked spice goat.   

Fast forward to this weekend, when I found the A to Z Twins Blog where she hosts a “Mystery Spice Monday” to rescue those unused and unloved spices from the cupboard. I knew exactly which spice I wanted to try first: my Caribbean Jerk Seasoning. I was nostalgic when I bought it, but it has been hiding ever since. may-2009-006

So what to make? Well, there is a plethora of ham in the house, so I searched some recipes and found Jerked Spice Ham by Jamie Olivier’s recipe. I loosely adapted his recipe to use leftovers and I came up with this:

Mix about 1/4 cup orange juice with 1/2 Tbs jerk seasoning. Spoon half the mixture over ham slices and run them under the broiler. Flip the slices, spoon remaining mixture over ham and broil again.

The rice side dish also has the jerk seasoning. I heated up 2 Tbs butter with 1 tsp minced garlic, 2 jarred roasted red peppers (minced) and 1 tsp jerk seasoning. Then I stirred in one bag of minute rice and added some sesame oil for extra flavor. It looks really pretty with the pink ham and the steamed snap peas. The dish wasn’t too spicy; I would even add more spice next time since the ham was already very sweet, the OJ made it even sweeter and sugar is the #1 ingredient in the McCormick Blend. Bean must have picked up on the sugar she ate quite a bit before she fell asleep at the dinner table!   

 

Actions

Information

One response

7 05 2009
Jennifer

I remember Mom used to make jerk chicken all the time. The ham sounds good. We rarely buy ham but I’ll have to save this recipe to try the next time we do.

Leave a Reply

