Meal Plan Monday- AK

18 05 2009

Camping season is here!!  We are planning our first trip this coming Sunday- heading up to Talkeetna.  I haven’t been up that way yet, so it will be fun.  I am hoping for nice clear weather so we will get good views of Denali (Mt. McKinley).

I have a busy week planned- working in the garden, getting our camper set up for the summer, organizing for our upcoming garage sale and extra babysitting.  We also have an energy rater scheduled to come tell us we’re spending way too much money on heating our house (like I need to pay someone to tell us that).  Anticipating no time for the kitchen I am going to turn to some easy tried and true recipes as well as some make ahead items…

SPhotobucketo on to my plan…

Monday– grouse and rice casserole, broccoli
Tuesday– steak and eggs, asparagus
Wednesday– salmon spinach quiche (a variation of this crustless recipe)
Thursday– leftovers
Friday– guests for dinner?- Mario Batali’s roast chicken, salad, rice side dish (I want to try either this Wild Rice Bangkok recipe or a rice pilaf)
Saturdaysausage gravy and biscuits for breakfast, grill something for dinner- most likely salmon  (Note: for those of you who have never made sausage gravy before… it’s really easy.  Follow this recipe once or twice and you’ll be able to make it from memory.)
Sunday– camping (leftovers and/or hot dogs)

I had a dream last night that I missed a huge stack of salmon in a different freezer and had to work 10 extra packages into our meal plans in the next few weeks.  I think that’s a sign I’m getting burned out on salmon!  This year I’m going to try to can some.  That way I won’t worry so much about using it all before it gets freezer burn. 

Once I’ve organized the camper for the summer and we’re done with the garage sale, I’ll be able to try out new camping recipes.  In the meantime check out my posts from last year for some ideas (for those of you who are already well into their summer).

And as always, for more inspiration check out hundreds of menu plans at I’m an Org Junkie.  You’ll be sure to find some interesting meal ideas there!

Jennifer

Actions

Information

One response

19 05 2009
sunnymum

Yeah! Camping! We’re going next week to Cape Cod!

Leave a Reply

