Preschooler Schedule Cards — WFMW

12 08 2009

wfmwbannerKRISTENEvery night seems to bring arguments over staying up late, where to sleep, how many stories, etc. etc. etc, with our preschooler. So Daddy has come up with Bean’s bedtime contract. It started out as a verbal contract where Daddy would outline everything that was to happen from brushing teeth to getting in bed. 
A few nights later, he wrote a bunch of the steps on pieces of paper and, after going over the list, he handed them to her one at a time as each step was beginning. Worked lovely!
We extended the idea to make these more permanent cards:aug 2009 001

Bean helped color the index cards with a the words and illustrations. This card is the final “bedtime” that shows Bean and her lambie and bear friends about to get into her bed. (See the storage containers underneath?) A little bit of contact paper strengthens the card and makes it less susceptible to being chewed on by her little brother too!
I plan to make more schedule cards for Bean as we get started with a few homeschooling activities this fall. It’ll be good help with word recongition too. And maybe then she’ll actually eat lunch at lunchtime!

Thanks for the idea, Daddy! Find other Works For Me Wednesday ideas at We Are That Family blog.

Actions

Information

6 responses

12 08 2009
sjbraun

Such a cute/smart idea! You’ll do great homeschooling. I homeschooled all my girls for preschool, and they were in excellent shape when they went to kindergarten.

12 08 2009
Jen

Cute idea. I have a preschooler we call Bean’s. too. Believe it or not. =)

I’ll be doing a loose ‘Letter of the week’ {http://www.letteroftheweek.com/preschool_age_3.html} curriculum this fall with my son and niece. I’m super excited to start! Are you following a certain curriculum? Or themes?

Happy Wednesday!

13 08 2009
niki

Great tip! I want to make these for my preschool classroom.

🙂

Stop by and visit me over at Free2BeFrugal!

13 08 2009
Lisa

I’m thrilled to see you are homeschooling!!! That will be GREAT for Bean – let me know if there is anything you need – you know how I love to coupon shop. 🙂

16 08 2009
Jennifer

This is great. I’m going to do some for our morning chores. Then dad can help kids while I sleep in ha ha!! Thanks for the idea!

20 08 2009
Massachusetts Husband

Glad I could help.

Leave a Reply

