Christmas Cookies Dilemma

5 12 2009

I was of the mindset that I wouldn’t bake too much this year since I’m trying to cut back on the extra calories.  HaHa!  Yeah, right!  Me?  Not bake Christmas cookies?  Who am I kidding?  I have a list a mile long of people I’d like to bless this Christmas with a little something. And who can resist browsing the hundreds (or thousands?) of Christmas cookie recipes?  So now I’m trying to make a list of ones I’d like to bake. 

My mother and I had a tradition of spending an entire weekend in early December making dozens and dozens of cookies.  We had a list of the ones we made every year as well as a few new recipes to try.  I’d bring almost my entire kitchen over to my parents’ and we’d spend hours mixing and baking and talking (and shooing Dad and the siblings away from cooling racks of yummy treats!).  I wish we were in the same town still because it’s just not the same baking by yourself.  Plus I have two rugrats that won’t let me mix one batch of dough let alone do an entire day of baking.

But alas, here I am by myself.  What cookies do I bake now?  I know I can’t physically do the same amount of recipes we used to, so I need to narrow it down to about five.  But they’re all so GOOD!!!  I can’t choose!!!  I mean there’s at least 5 sugar cookie recipes alone I’d like to try. And I have to make sugar cookies so we get more moments like these

Any tips on baking mass quanities of cookies by yourself (and not being tempted to eat them yourself) would be appreciated… and any tried and true family favorites to help me choose would be nice too.  Thanks!

Happy Baking!

Jennifer

A few links I am enjoying browsing:
Food Network’s 12 Days of Cookies
Betty Crocker (the Chocolate Marshmallow Pillows may make the list- and they have coupons)
allrecipes.com (cookie mixes in a jar- you can give the gift of cookies without the hours of baking!)

Actions

Information

One response

5 12 2009
poverty_dieter

Ha! Ha! Good luck with that!

Maybe you should put all your recipes in a hat and choose one?

🙂

Leave a Reply

