Gingerbread Houses

22 12 2009

I am so excited the kids are getting old enough to do Christmas crafts.  The excitment they had in creating their houses was worth the mess that is now my kitchen!

This is a great way to use up old Halloween candy and is pretty easy to do with preschoolers. I just baked the gingerbread pieces ahead of time.  I made this a multi day process, but it could probably be done all at once since the frosting hardens quite fast.  The first day I had them help me hold the pieces as I “glued” them. Then the next day they picked out the candy they wanted to put on, and told me where to put the frosting for them. Or you can put a dab of frosting on each piece of candy and let them stick it to the house. I gave them a little guidance of course (because I was having fun decorating too) but they did most of it.

The frosting I used was: 3 egg whites, 1 lb powdered sugar and 1/2 tsp cream of tarter. Beat for 5-7 min until stiff. If you put it in a ziploc bag (1qt size) with a coupler and a decorating tip on, it will keep until the next day. It dries pretty quickly so it’s easy for the kids to help put the houses together.

Three days until Christmas! Are your Christmas cards sent? (Mine aren’t, I’m just asking LOL!!)

Jennifer

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

