Kristin Hannah’s Firefly Lane & Giveaway

2 02 2010

This past weekend, I had the pleasure to host a Kristin Hannah’s Celebrate Our Stories House Party for some of my mom friends. It was very exciting to open the party pack they sent out, with copies of Kristin’s book Firefly Lane for everyone. The book is a great story of friendship and all the bumps and bruises along the way. I loved the way Kristin developed the relationship between the heroines, Tully and Kate, by shifting from one character’s viewpoint to tell a tidbit, then back to the other to fill in another facet. It’s a beautiful story that really hit home for myself and a lot of my guests. We read the book before the party and it was fun to see different people’s interpretations of some of the events in the book and to hear how they related to the story.  Most of us did relate a lot more to Kate as a mom (I personally am an “over-thinker” like her too) than to Tully, who is single, rich, and not the most compassionate person (much of the time anyway). We had a great time, which is probably most evident by the lack of pictures, since after a few glasses of wine and delving into deep conversations, no one was thinking about cameras. It was amazing to be completely absorbed in the fascinating stories of each others lives, but I’m really kicking myself for that one. Sorry! I will share a pic of our yummy pink cheesecakes and two of the “school lunch” raffle surprises that were taken before the party started though. A lot of us really admire Kristin Hannah as an author. She’s a mom too and really discovered her passion and talent for writing in a unique way. Her newest book, Winter Garden, has just come out. I’m only halfway through it and I’m enjoying it immensely. You can read a sneak peek here.

Okay, here’s where you can win something: I do have an extra copy of Firefly Lane that I’d love to share with one of you. Just leave a comment below to be entered.

And some people really like having extra entries: I love how involved Kristin is with her readers, so you can visit her blog or Face Book page and leave another comment back here on something new you learned about her that I haven’t already said (and isn’t said in the comment directly above you). (1 extra entry per site, that’s a total of 2 extra entries)

A side note to disclose everything I can think of regarding this review & giveaway: I received this copy of Firefly Lane as part of my House Party Pack and had the idea all by myself to share a copy with someone reading this blog. I am a member of House Party. I am not related to Kristin Hannah, nor have I ever met her in person, but someday would like to. Neither House Party nor Kristin Hannah have influenced my opinions of the book or this giveaway. I just think she’s a neat author and hopefully, by sharing, at least one of you reading this will enjoy reading her book(s) too.
Giveaway ends the afternoon of Wednesday, Feb. 10th. NOW CLOSED The winner will be picked at random and will be notified via email. Winner will have 3 days to get back to me, or I reserve the right to pick a new winner. I also reserve the right to delete any comments that are rude or inappropriate. I will be paying to ship the book to the winner myself, so US addresses only, please. Also be aware that I’ll be sending it out via media mail since it’s a heavy hard back book! Thanks!

Update 2/10 Giveaway is closed. Winner has confirmed. Thanks for participating!

Actions

Information

28 responses

2 02 2010
Amy

OK, so I really want to read this book…badly!! 🙂

3 02 2010
Renee G

I’d love to read this book, since I have a tendency to be an overthinking mom as well.
rsgrandinetti@yahoo(DOT)com

3 02 2010
Vicki Wurgler

this book sounds great-I want to win!

3 02 2010
Julie L

Pink cheesecakes look delicious 🙂

sounds like a book I would enjoy reading

3 02 2010
jodi

love to read and need a new book! would love to win!
jodi233 @ comcast.net

3 02 2010
Charlotte Prescott

This book sounds delightful, as does your house party. I wish you many more evenings like the one you described.

3 02 2010
Amanda C

I would love to win a copy of this book. Thanks for the chance!

3 02 2010
Diane L.

I’m not familiar with Kristin’s work, but I would love to have an opportunity to read her book!

4 02 2010
Jana

I have been wantng to read this book. Thanks for the chance.

5 02 2010
Marci

This book sounds great! Please enter me!

5 02 2010
Linda

I would also love to get this book.
Please enter me.

6 02 2010
trish

I would love to win this book. thank you

6 02 2010
melissa n.

Sounds like a great read 🙂 Thanks for the chance

7 02 2010
Winning Readings

We posted about this giveaway at Winning Readings: http://winningreadings.blogspot.com/2010/02/firefly-lane.html

Janemaritz at yahoo dot com

8 02 2010
Angela P

I would love to read this book. Thanks for the giveaway!

8 02 2010
Wendy

Sounds like a good book. Thanks for the chance.

8 02 2010
Wendy

She was on bed rest for 5 months and after reading everything she could find, she went back to a writing project she had started with her mom.

8 02 2010
Wendy

We are getting lots of snow in the icy midwest which is where she is today per FB.

8 02 2010
abi

I’d love to win this book. Thanks.
ABreading4fun [at] gmail [dot] com

8 02 2010
abi

Kristin is author of many books and they all look so wonderful.

ABreading4fun [at] gmail [dot] com

8 02 2010
Benita G.

I’d love to read this book. Thanks for the possibility.

bgcchs(at)yahoo(dot)com

9 02 2010
Anita Yancey

Sounds really good. I’d love to read it. Please enter me. Thanks!
ayancey(at)dishmail(dot)net

9 02 2010
deb

Would love to win. This is our book club selection for April.

deborah150 at hotmail dot com

9 02 2010
deb

I learned that she has exceptional taste in music. Dancing Queen is the first song on her play list. I ♥ ABBA

9 02 2010
DEBIJOT

Love to read this book. Thanks

10 02 2010
Christina

I would love a chance to read this book. I’ve only read one other Kristin Hannah book, but really enjoyed it!! Thanks!

12 02 2010
A Firefly Winner! «

[…] February 12, 2010 at 7:16 pm | In giveaway | Leave a Comment Tags: giveaways And the winner of Kristin Hannah’s Firefly Lane is Angela. […]

5 03 2010
Giveaways: Link your blogs! | Dimes2Vines

[…] $50 Safeway Gift Card giveaway (ends 2/14)72. RSSM :: bareMinerals Mascara :: ends 02.1273. SofSis- Kristin Hannah’s Firefly Lane (2/10)74. NateHines – Win a Flip Ultra HD Camcorder! 3/175. My Real Review -Hankettes Pocket Pack […]




