Egg Roll or Roll of Egg?

8 03 2011

Looking for something quick for a Mardi Gras dinner, I found a recipe for a “baked omelet” in my Taste of Home Cookbook. Basically, you blend 6 eggs, 1 cup milk, 1/2 cup flour, and some seasonings, then bake it in a greased 13×9 inch pan at 450 F until the eggs are set. Sprinkle with cheese and roll from the short end. I also fried up some black olives, diced potatoes and cubed ham to put on top of the cheese.

Overall, I’m not sure that it’s an authentic omelet texture (it’s been awhile since I ate a good omelet), but the flavors are not too strange to keep the family from trying it. And eating it!
I think it could be improved by adding chopped herbs like parsley to the egg mixture to give it more color and a brighter texture/flavor. Also, once fillings beyond the cheese are added, enlist your sous-chef to help transfer the roll from the pan to the platter. It’s very wobbly!

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 03 2011
Babygirl

I’ve heard of a baked omelet before but I never had the heart to try it. This really seems like it came out delish!

9 03 2011
hereinak

Looks easy enough, kind of looks like a crepe! Yum either way. Btw- bread is in the oven, it’s a quick bread. We’ll see how it turns out. It’s as easy as making cornbread. May be my go-to for bread with dinner when I forget to start real bread in the morning!

Leave a Reply

