Lenten Postcard Prayer Project

18 02 2012

Inspired by the Family Lent tradition shared by the Totus Tuus Family on their blog, we’ve decided to make an extra effort to prayer for our friends and family this Lent. We’ll spend the next few days gathering names on slips of paper in a basket. Then, during Lent, the kids can draw a name out at dinnertime and we’ll say a special prayer for that person.

I think it’s also important for us to share a little note with the people we pray for. I know it will help the kids make a more concrete connection with prayer. And hopefully, it’ll be a joy for the recipients to get a piece of happy mail.

I’ve made these postcards that the kids can personalize by coloring the flowers or even just signing their names. There is also space to write the recipient’s name at the top and the date. Yes, it’s going to be a big chunk of postage, but I think it’ll be worth it.

I invite you to download the file I made here. After downloading, just find some white or colorful cardstock, print the first page, flip it, print the 2nd page on the back, and cut into 4 cards.

{The cards were created with flower clip art from: http://openclipart.org and the Pea Kassidy from Kevin & Amanda at www.kevinandamanda.com/ }

Catholic IcingI’ve added this post to the Lenten Link-Up at Catholic Icing where you will find more ideas for celebrating a meaningful Lent.


Actions

Information

4 responses

18 02 2012
Gardenia

I just saw that idea at Totus Tuus too. Yours looks great. Beautiful cards. thanks for sharing.

18 02 2012
Allison

LUV what you’ve done with this idea! Beautiful cards.

19 02 2012
lena

lovely cards. i pinned this idea and hope to add it to my children’s lenten program and/or use it as an activity for my little flowers.

22 02 2012
Elizabeth C.

This is really a great idea! I’m going to try to add this to our week’s projects.

Thanks!

Leave a comment